Red tide occurence in eight bays, shellfish ban implemented


The Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources has proclaimed shellfish ban in eight different bays.

Affected areas are:

  • Murcielagos Bay in Zamboanga del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Dumanquillas Bay in Zamboanga del Sur.
  • Calbayog Waters in Samar
  • Cambatutay Bay in Samar
  • Irong Irong Bay in Samar
  • Matarinao Bay in Eastern Samar
  • Balite Bay in Davao Oriental
  • Honda Bay in Puerto Princesa, Palawan.

The public is being warned about not buying, eating shellfish from this bay until toxic level will gone down